Co-Chair, CAC

Term: 2019-2021


I am a self-employed interpreter/translator for the Montaganard community, specializing in Jarai and Rhade. I was born in Vietnam and grew up most of my life here in the United States. I originally lived in Greensboro, NC, and now I live in Graham, NC. I work in settings such as hospitals, schools, and conference centers. I translate court, hospital and other document. My duties as an interpreter/translator are to manage work schedules to meet deadlines, render spoken messages accurately, quickly, and clearly, speak, read, and write in at least two languages, including English and one other, and to compile information, such as technical terms used in legal settings, into glossaries and terminology databases to be used in translations.

I was the first generation in my family to attend college and I graduated from Guilford College with a Bachelor of Arts in Peace and Conflict Studies and double minor in Business and Political Science. Throughout my college years, I have grown as an advocate for my community and for individuals, as well as a researcher working with academics from Guilford College, UNCG, and NC A&T about the issues in the Montagnard community, especially health. I have given back for all the opportunities I have been afforded. I have helped the Montagnard people to navigate complex processes, such as applying for government aid, SNAP, Medicaid, Medicare, disability, retirement, health insurance, and unemployment. In addition, I have helped them acquire citizenship, home mortgages, and jobs. I had been doing these community works over nine years and I continue doing what I do. I love helping Montagnard people because they give me the greatest joy.